What’s the story, Chasing Glory?

The constant chase, the need to always be part of some new group that is doing something different or get the latest TV that is out.
Some of you might remember ‘Sebago’s’, oh…how I wanted a pair, and at the time I did everything to get a pair. It took me a while to convince my family to get them for me – but I eventually got it, and I was part of the clique – I did make sure I had a different color to the others though, just so I felt that I was a little unique (what was I thinking?).
What makes the Blackberry so much different then, a new thing, that we feel we MUST be a part of – well done to the marketing team at Blackberry then, cos they almost had me fooled!
So what are we chasing exactly? Why is it that we constantly find our happiness dependent on that one additional thing before we can be happy – FULLY – at least?
Did you ever ask yourself; ‘what difference is buying this car going to make in my life in 5 years from now?’ and then what’s really going to get you is why you do it, so that the people who know you come up to you and say…’Cool Car Dude’ and you proudly accept the compliment (forgetting how much you pay monthly…lol).
How often have you asked yourself what you really enjoy, I mean like really really! Take this BLOG for instance, it’s been my nemesis for many months, and all I considered while thinking about it was…what will people think about the different things I write about? …but why, I mean it’s always been a dream of mine to share my experiences with people – some will like it, and some won’t – but more importantly I’m connecting with something that is totally me. Now, I’ve started enjoying it, and people start telling me about how much money I can make off it. Needless to say, my reflexes inch closer to the thought of how I can achieve stardom – how I can make it big, and make SOME MONEY.
I get caught up, I start planning, thinking about what I need to do next to make sure that I’m getting enough hits out there so that someone notices me…someone pays attentions and pays me a MILLION bucks for something I did.
The mind is a powerful thing, but why should we use it on things that do very little to enrich our lives?
I’m just writing cos I like engaging people, I like sharing my experience and most of all…hoping that in sharing, I make the path a little lighter for someone who might be facing something I have experienced (am experiencing).
I was so focused on winning, that I forgot to enjoy the running…if you find yourself looking at the trophy all the time, you forget to enjoy the very moment you’re in.
Click this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQvYWsDwpA4 (sometimes we find inspiration in the weirdest places, I really dig this clip and thought I would share. Really listen to what he says about being true to yourself.)
Take a second to think about the things you have in your life, right now, funny to realize that there’s no reason to put off the happiness you deserve in this very moment.
And…if you don’t know exactly what it is, it’s okay, take your time to find it.
My wife supports my craziness, one of them being that my strongest sensory experience comes from my tongue (take your minds out of the gutter please), taste is something that I love – so when you here the quote, ‘do one thing that scares you, everyday!’ – know that the thing you do must be relevant to you and what you are about.
When last have you found the urge to build some LEGO…
Never lose the sense of Adventure…

2 thoughts on “What’s the story, Chasing Glory?

  1. ” Never lose the sense of adventure,” got stuck in my brain! As soon as I hit 40, I wish I could have done more and travel more with my family. I feel like I’m cramming up for the remaining adventures life has to offer. Theres so much to do with so little time. Keep your dream alive and do what makes you happy. Listen to what your heart tells you and the adventures will flow. Great post!

    1. that’s the thing though, adventure doesn’t ask for age at the door…40 may seem like you’ve missed some of it, but the fact that you’re starting is an adventure it it’s own. keep flying…

Leave a comment